logo
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

A new List of valid values to use in a User Defined Field
OZ4CG
#1 Posted : Friday, May 17, 2019 12:49:30 PM(UTC)
Carsten Gjessing

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Posts: 32
Man
Location: Denmark

Thanks: 12 times
Was thanked: 8 time(s) in 8 post(s)
Hi Dennis
I have created a new User Defined Field for the award URDA (Ukrainian Districts Award), which I will go for.
It has 761 different districts, and I started writing them into the List of valid values, but this will take very long time. (Too long I think...)

I wrote to the award manager some time ago, to have the list in Excel-format to import in LOGic, but never got an answer.

My question is: Is it possible to download a list from the internet (http://uarl.com.ua/urda/files/listeng.htm), which can be imported in LOGic??

If so, please let me know how.

Looking forward to hear from you

Best 73 Carsten / OZ4CG
Sponsor
Note: We receive a commission from Amazon when you purchase via this link. It does not affect your cost. Thank you!
IK0CHU
#2 Posted : Friday, May 17, 2019 6:05:47 PM(UTC)
RedBaron

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Posts: 264
Man
Location: Viterbo, VT - ITALY

Thanks: 43 times
Was thanked: 48 time(s) in 43 post(s)
Hi Carsten,
I am attaching my 5 cents and I hope this database can help you and others that they need. I can't remember the date I updated it. You will certainly be able to check.
Hi Mauro IK0CHU
IKØCHU Mauro
IK0CHU
#3 Posted : Friday, May 17, 2019 6:27:34 PM(UTC)
RedBaron

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Posts: 264
Man
Location: Viterbo, VT - ITALY

Thanks: 43 times
Was thanked: 48 time(s) in 43 post(s)
Sorry Carsten but I had file transfer problems now try again with three new ones.
73 Mauro IK0CHU
File Attachment(s):
URDA.dbf (70kb) downloaded 2 time(s).
IKØCHU Mauro
1 user thanked IK0CHU for this useful post.
OZ4CG on 5/18/2019(UTC)
OZ4CG
#4 Posted : Saturday, May 18, 2019 7:06:10 AM(UTC)
Carsten Gjessing

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Posts: 32
Man
Location: Denmark

Thanks: 12 times
Was thanked: 8 time(s) in 8 post(s)
Hello Mauro, IK0CHU
Thank you so much for your valuable help! The list is imported to my LOGic9, and all seems to work fine!
Hope you and your family will have a nice weekend
All thew best and ciao!

Best 73 Carsten / OZ4CG
OZ4CG
#5 Posted : Monday, May 20, 2019 1:42:38 PM(UTC)
Carsten Gjessing

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Posts: 32
Man
Location: Denmark

Thanks: 12 times
Was thanked: 8 time(s) in 8 post(s)
Hello Mauro (and others)
I was going to use the new URDA list which you were very helpfull to send me, and which I have imported to the List of Valid Values instead of the list I started manually to make.

But when I search for URDA's from my logform URDA-field (User Defined Field), the old list (which I started to make, but deleted when I imported the total list) comes up instead of the new and comlete list?? I have tried to check if all the nessary checkboxes are checked, and for me it looks, that all is OK. But the right list does not appear in my logform??

I must have done something wrong, but what?? Do you maybe know about this problem?
Best 73 Carsten / OZ4CG
IK0CHU
#6 Posted : Monday, May 20, 2019 4:17:13 PM(UTC)
RedBaron

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Posts: 264
Man
Location: Viterbo, VT - ITALY

Thanks: 43 times
Was thanked: 48 time(s) in 43 post(s)

Hi Carsten,
if I understand correctly, before starting the import of the new list you have deleted your existing one. Everything ok, even if you could rename URDA_OLD example if something could go wrong.
Just imported the new list did you run the TOOLS / DATABASE MAINTENANCE procedure?
You need to reindex the archive. Try and let me know.
73's IKØCHU Mauro
***
IKØCHU Mauro
OZ4CG
#7 Posted : Tuesday, May 21, 2019 2:09:13 AM(UTC)
Carsten Gjessing

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Posts: 32
Man
Location: Denmark

Thanks: 12 times
Was thanked: 8 time(s) in 8 post(s)
Hi, Mauro

Thank you for your quick reply, and advice. I did not run the database maintenance procedure (I did not know) - But now I did, and restarted the program.

Unfortunately it did not solve the problem.

I wonder why the old list still comes up in the log form, since this list is not present in the List of Valid Values... ??

Maybe I shall delete the User Defined URDA Field in the logform, and make a new ??

Your valuable help is very appreciated!

Best 73 Carsten / OZ4CG
IK0CHU
#8 Posted : Tuesday, May 21, 2019 5:32:56 AM(UTC)
RedBaron

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Posts: 264
Man
Location: Viterbo, VT - ITALY

Thanks: 43 times
Was thanked: 48 time(s) in 43 post(s)

Hi Carsten,
I can't understand why you don't have the new list. I state that the field name must be URDA.
Very important that you put a flag in the EDIT USING LIST TABLE. Did you set this flag?

73 Mauro CHU
***
File Attachment(s):
ScreenShot783.jpg (28kb) downloaded 6 time(s).
IKØCHU Mauro
OZ4CG
#9 Posted : Tuesday, May 21, 2019 1:01:24 PM(UTC)
Carsten Gjessing

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Posts: 32
Man
Location: Denmark

Thanks: 12 times
Was thanked: 8 time(s) in 8 post(s)
Hi, Mauro

My settings are excactly the same (se screen-dump), and in the list below the window URDA is on the list with all the posts. But I discovered now, that when I click on "List all User defined fields used in log", URDA is not in the list??
Strange, since it is in the logform, and in the browse window as well...

Must be an explanation somewhere... ?

Best 73 Carsten / OZ4CG

[img]null[/img]
File Attachment(s):
Skærmbillede 2019-05-21 19.33.56.png (134kb) downloaded 7 time(s).
IK0CHU
#10 Posted : Thursday, May 23, 2019 8:27:15 AM(UTC)
RedBaron

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Posts: 264
Man
Location: Viterbo, VT - ITALY

Thanks: 43 times
Was thanked: 48 time(s) in 43 post(s)

Hi Carsten,
At first Sorry for delay but I honestly don't know what to answer and on this occasion I also visualized the list of all the user fields defined in the log and I found things that I do not know the origin. They would seem to be a mix of different fields like ", UTSRX" or "XXX" (see the screenshot). On this occasion I would like to ask someone or Dennis why there are these unknown references and if I can be removed in some way.
For what happens to you I would try to delete everything and start again to insert the fields and add the database.

We are waitng for any help

73's IKØCHU Mauro
File Attachment(s):
ScreenShot784.jpg (142kb) downloaded 2 time(s).
IKØCHU Mauro
1 user thanked IK0CHU for this useful post.
OZ4CG on 5/24/2019(UTC)
wa4pgm
#11 Posted : Thursday, May 23, 2019 2:14:24 PM(UTC)
kchavis

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Administrators, Registered, Beta Testers
Posts: 230
Location: Farmville, VA

Thanks: 15 times
Was thanked: 121 time(s) in 105 post(s)
Mauro,
I have a few of the mix fields but different than the ones you listed. I noted some said, "Added automatically by xxx contest form".

I'm not a database expert but I think I would delete everything, Pack and Index, and then import Mauro's URDA DBF again.

I usually have issues when I'm adding a database because I rarely do it. So it takes me a time or two before its correct.
Good Luck!!
Kyle
1 user thanked wa4pgm for this useful post.
OZ4CG on 5/24/2019(UTC)
OZ4CG
#12 Posted : Friday, May 24, 2019 7:07:09 AM(UTC)
Carsten Gjessing

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Posts: 32
Man
Location: Denmark

Thanks: 12 times
Was thanked: 8 time(s) in 8 post(s)
Hello Mauro and Kyle
Thank you so much for your attention and kind advices. I did as you suggested: Deleted all and reinstalled the list, and after an Update Award Progress and packing, the problem is solved! Now the right List of Valid Values comes up, when I search in the log field!
Many thanks to you for the valuable help!
Best 73 Carsten / OZ4CG
Users browsing this topic
Guest (4)
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

Powered by YAF 1.9.5.5 | YAF © 2003-2011, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 0.103 seconds.