logo
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

VE7CC.NET issue
N7IP
#1 Posted : Wednesday, April 11, 2018 11:33:40 AM(UTC)
Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Posts: 115
Location: MT

Was thanked: 8 time(s) in 8 post(s)
Hi Dennis. Logic is having trouble logging into this site. The first 30 lines of the attached transcript "N7IPspots" shows that telnet stalls when LOGIC is first started. This behavior also occurs when the PC is resuming from sleep. A screen shot of the setup is also attached.

I can get it to login if I disconnect and then reconnect. The second part of the transcript, below the string of "====" shows the complete output after disconnecting and then reconnecting.

Could you please let me know how to fix this?

Another subject: I want to populate the spot log with as much history as possible after I launch Logic. So I put the command "sh/dx/100" in the setup. But the result is not being sent to the spot log. I'm wondering how I can accomplish my goal of filling in the spot log with a bunch of history at the time of launch?

Thanks,

Bob
File Attachment(s):
N7IP screen shot.pdf (3,393kb) downloaded 9 time(s).
N7IP spots.txt (13kb) downloaded 6 time(s).
Sponsor
Note: We receive a commission from Amazon when you purchase via this link. It does not affect your cost. Thank you!
WN4AZY
#2 Posted : Thursday, April 12, 2018 7:32:03 PM(UTC)
admin

Rank: Administration

Groups: Administrators, Beta Testers
Posts: 2,244
Man
Location: Auburn, GA

Thanks: 429 times
Was thanked: 302 time(s) in 240 post(s)
Hi--

You need to update the prompt/response settings for this host as per the attached screen shot.

Note that SH/DX does not show the spots in the proper format. What you need is SH/FDX.

Let me know if any questions.

Tnx & 73,

Dennis WN4AZY
File Attachment(s):
capture.PNG (23kb) downloaded 19 time(s).
N7IP
#3 Posted : Saturday, April 14, 2018 2:07:00 PM(UTC)
Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Posts: 115
Location: MT

Was thanked: 8 time(s) in 8 post(s)
Thanks Dennis!

Bob
N7IP
#4 Posted : Saturday, April 14, 2018 4:25:49 PM(UTC)
Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Posts: 115
Location: MT

Was thanked: 8 time(s) in 8 post(s)
Dennis, one more question. I would like to filter ft8 spots from US stations. Here's what I put into the spot log:

SPOTBYCONT=GLOBAL.MY_CONTINENT AND (NOT 'FT8'$COMMENT AND NOT DXCC='K')

Could you tell me why it's not working?

Also, are you planning to integrate with the WSJT-X log?

Thanks,

Bob
WN4AZY
#5 Posted : Sunday, April 15, 2018 3:40:30 PM(UTC)
admin

Rank: Administration

Groups: Administrators, Beta Testers
Posts: 2,244
Man
Location: Auburn, GA

Thanks: 429 times
Was thanked: 302 time(s) in 240 post(s)


Quote:
SPOTBYCONT=GLOBAL.MY_CONTINENT AND (NOT 'FT8'$COMMENT AND NOT DXCC='K')


Ok, if I am reading this correctly, it is a prefilter in the spot log. It will allow only spots that originate in your continent, does not have FT8 in the comment, and the station being spotted must not be in the US. Is that what you want?

I suspect that you don't want to see spots of FT8 stations in the US. So try this:

SPOTBYCONT=GLOBAL.MY_CONTINENT AND NOT ('FT8'$ COMMENT AND DXCC='K ')

The space after the K is to not match KL7 for instance. If you don't want to see FT8's from AK or HI, leave the space out.

Quote:
Also, are you planning to integrate with the WSJT-X log?
Not only that, am getting it finished up!
N7IP
#6 Posted : Sunday, April 15, 2018 4:19:22 PM(UTC)
Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Posts: 115
Location: MT

Was thanked: 8 time(s) in 8 post(s)
Thanks again!

Bob
N7IP
#7 Posted : Wednesday, May 23, 2018 9:36:13 PM(UTC)
Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Posts: 115
Location: MT

Was thanked: 8 time(s) in 8 post(s)
I installed the login script as you suggested, but I still have the issue as you can see from the attached log capture.

Bob
File Attachment(s):
VE7CC.pdf (508kb) downloaded 14 time(s).
VE7CC login.txt (2kb) downloaded 7 time(s).
WN4AZY
#8 Posted : Thursday, May 24, 2018 5:52:01 PM(UTC)
admin

Rank: Administration

Groups: Administrators, Beta Testers
Posts: 2,244
Man
Location: Auburn, GA

Thanks: 429 times
Was thanked: 302 time(s) in 240 post(s)
Hi--

Not sure what is going on. The setup is ok.

What is strange is here are the first few lines from the capture log from the text file you uploaded:

Quote:
Please enter your call:

login: *** Connected to VE7CC-1:
Greetings from the VE7CC-1 cluster.
Located near Vancouver BC

FT8 FT8 FT8 FT8 FT8 FT8 FT8 FT8 FT8

To see FT8 spots you MUST enter SET/FT8
To see PSKReporter FT8 spots you must SET/SKIMMER


and from mine, whcih works:

Quote:
*** Connected to VE7CC-1:
Greetings from the VE7CC-1 cluster.
Located near Vancouver BC

FT8 FT8 FT8 FT8 FT8 FT8 FT8 FT8 FT8

To see FT8 spots you MUST enter SET/FT8
To see PSKReporter FT8 spots you must SET/SKIMMER
To turn OFF RBN CW Spots enter SET/NOCW

FT8 FT8 FT8 FT8 FT8 FT8 FT8 FT8 FT8


Running CC Cluster software version 3.116ca

*************************************************************************
* *
* Please login with a callsign indicating your correct country *
* Portable calls are ok. *
* *
*************************************************************************

New commands:

set/skimmer turns on Skimmer spots.
set/noskimmer turns off Skimmer spots.

set/nobeacon turns off spots for beacons.
set/beacon turns them back on.

For information on CC Cluster software see:
http://bcdxc.org/ve7cc/ccc/CCC_Commands.htm

AR User program now at ver. 2.447
Please enter your call:

login: WN4AZYWN4AZY


Your example is sending "login" the very first thing, before the CONNECT message even.

Try exiting LOGic and rebooting your computer. What version of LOGic are you running?

Tnx & 73,

Dennis WN4AZY
N7IP
#9 Posted : Sunday, January 27, 2019 7:24:28 PM(UTC)
Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Posts: 115
Location: MT

Was thanked: 8 time(s) in 8 post(s)
Dennis, I am still having this problem with dxc.ve7cc.net. My setup is per your suggestion:

wait for LOGIN:
respond with MYCALL

As before, it times-out 9 out of 10 times at startup. Then, when I disconnect and reconnect, it almost always logs on fine. Lee, VE7CC, suggested that Logic may be case sensitive, where "Login:" from the host is not recognized. Any other ideas for how to make this work all the time?

Thanks,

Bob
W5GA
#10 Posted : Monday, January 28, 2019 11:39:47 AM(UTC)
Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Posts: 209
Location: Missouri

Thanks: 20 times
Was thanked: 37 time(s) in 29 post(s)
I use the VE7CC client software, configured with my preferences, and log into that with Logic rather than directly log into VE7CC.net. Works every time.
N7IP
#11 Posted : Monday, January 28, 2019 1:14:53 PM(UTC)
Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Posts: 115
Location: MT

Was thanked: 8 time(s) in 8 post(s)
I used to use the ve7cc client too but decided that was an extra step that I could eliminate--maybe decrease the delay in spot posting. As you say, Logic worked fine with it. I'm sure Dennis can get Logic to connect directly, but it's not obvious how.


Bob
WN4AZY
#12 Posted : Tuesday, January 29, 2019 1:24:18 PM(UTC)
admin

Rank: Administration

Groups: Administrators, Beta Testers
Posts: 2,244
Man
Location: Auburn, GA

Thanks: 429 times
Was thanked: 302 time(s) in 240 post(s)
Hi Bob:

Quote:
wait for LOGIN:
respond with MYCALL

This is correct. LOGic is not case-sensitive. I have attached a screen shot of my setup for comparison. It has worked several times in a row, without failure.

Here is the proper response:

Quote:
*** Connected to VE7CC-1:
Greetings from the VE7CC-1 cluster.
Located near Vancouver BC
Running CC Cluster software version 3.116bz

*************************************************************************
* *
* Please login with a callsign indicating your correct country *
* Portable calls are ok. *
* *
*************************************************************************

New commands:

set/skimmer turns on Skimmer spots.
set/noskimmer turns off Skimmer spots.

set/nobeacon turns off spots for beacons.
set/beacon turns them back on.

For information on CC Cluster software see:
http://bcdxc.org/ve7cc/ccc/CCC_Commands.htm

AR User program now at ver. 2.447
Please enter your call:

login: WN4AZY

Hello Dennis.


Cluster: 416 nodes 1100 Locals 5979 Total users Uptime 22 days 14:00

Date Hour SFI A K Forecast Logger
29-Jan-2019 15 76 1 1 No Storms -> No Storms AE5E
29-Jan-2019 18 76 1 0 No Storms -> No Storms VE7CC
WN4AZY de VE7CC-1 29-Jan-2019 1813Z CCC >
WN4AZY de VE7CC-1 29-Jan-2019 1813Z CCC >



Note the login: prompt and LOGic's response, which I bolded. When you get the failure, please look at the response and compare. NOTE: To paste the response into the forum, I had to remove the angle brackets from around the callsigns in the LOGGER column. Otherwise you get a security error.


The default timeout is around 10 seconds. If the cluster really timing out (taking more then 10 seconds to respond with the login: prompt), enter a number bigger than 10 in the SECONDS TO WAIT column.

Let me know.

Tnx & 73,

DEnnis WN4AZY
File Attachment(s):
capture.PNG (23kb) downloaded 4 time(s).
N7IP
#13 Posted : Wednesday, January 30, 2019 12:38:46 PM(UTC)
Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Posts: 115
Location: MT

Was thanked: 8 time(s) in 8 post(s)
Here is the copy from telnet showing Logic stalled. If I disconnect and reconnect, login works fine:

Please enter your call:

login: *** Connected to VE7CC-1:
Greetings from the VE7CC-1 cluster.
Located near Vancouver BC
Running CC Cluster software version 3.116bz

*************************************************************************
* *
* Please login with a callsign indicating your correct country *
* Portable calls are ok. *
* *
*************************************************************************

New commands:

set/skimmer turns on Skimmer spots.
set/noskimmer turns off Skimmer spots.

set/nobeacon turns off spots for beacons.
set/beacon turns them back on.

For information on CC Cluster software see:
http://bcdxc.org/ve7cc/ccc/CCC_Commands.htm

AR User program now at ver. 2.447

LOGic> Waited for LOGIN: to be sent by host, but it was not.
LOGic> Check Setup.


WN4AZY
#14 Posted : Thursday, January 31, 2019 10:19:11 PM(UTC)
admin

Rank: Administration

Groups: Administrators, Beta Testers
Posts: 2,244
Man
Location: Auburn, GA

Thanks: 429 times
Was thanked: 302 time(s) in 240 post(s)
That's truly bizarre. Note that LOGic shows that the cluster sends

Quote:
Please enter your call:

login:


the very first thing, even before the *** Connected to VE7CC-1: message. It seems that it should still work tho.

I notice from your screen shot in VE7CC.PDF on an earlier post that you have LOGIN:_ instead of LOGIN:, and that LOCAL ECHO is on. The _ after LOGIN: is no longer necessary, but it still works. Local Echo just causes anything sent to the cluster to be doubled. But again, it still logs in. Anyway, try setting it up as per the screen shot in my previous post.

What version of LOGic are you running?

Can we get together on the phone so I can log in remotely and see if I see anything?

Tnx & 73,

Dennis WN4AZY
N7IP
#15 Posted : Saturday, February 2, 2019 1:55:59 PM(UTC)
Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Posts: 115
Location: MT

Was thanked: 8 time(s) in 8 post(s)
Dennis, I am using v.40 and there is no space after LOGIN:

on the second script line I had: CCC > and then sh/fdx/100

I erased that. The funny thing about this is that the error is random. It does happen every morning when I turn on Logic for the first time. But most of the time it doesn't occur. So not sure if we screen shared that I could show you the error.

Bob
Users browsing this topic
Guest
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

Powered by YAF 1.9.5.5 | YAF © 2003-2011, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 0.143 seconds.