logo
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

FT8 spot is shown as needed when it is not
N7IP
#1 Posted : Sunday, July 31, 2022 11:12:29 PM(UTC)
Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Posts: 176
Location: OR

Was thanked: 18 time(s) in 18 post(s)
An FT8 spot is shown as a needed in the spot log even tho I've already confirmed a data (even FT8) contact on that band. I should know how to fix this but I can't remember the solution. Thanks for the help!

Bob
Sponsor
Note: We receive a commission from Amazon when you purchase via this link. It does not affect your cost. Thank you!
WN4AZY
#2 Posted : Tuesday, August 2, 2022 11:19:31 AM(UTC)
admin

Rank: Administration

Groups: Administrators, Beta Testers
Posts: 2,862
Man
Location: Auburn, GA

Thanks: 836 times
Was thanked: 440 time(s) in 359 post(s)
Awards/Update Awards Progress Info?

Let me know.

Tnx/73,

Dennis WN4AZY
N7IP
#3 Posted : Wednesday, August 3, 2022 11:03:59 PM(UTC)
Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Posts: 176
Location: OR

Was thanked: 18 time(s) in 18 post(s)
Dennis, after I did the awards update, even more incorrect spots appeared in the spot log. I did the database maint, but nothing improved. Even worse, a number of spots appear twice with the same time stamp. even the time sort of the display shows spots out of order by time.
WN4AZY
#4 Posted : Thursday, August 4, 2022 6:20:30 AM(UTC)
admin

Rank: Administration

Groups: Administrators, Beta Testers
Posts: 2,862
Man
Location: Auburn, GA

Thanks: 836 times
Was thanked: 440 time(s) in 359 post(s)
OK, a lot of times customers think there is a duplicate spot record, but in fact it has two records for the same spot but for different awards (CQZ and ITUZ for example).

https://www.hosenose.com...ts-in-the-spot-log.aspx

The sort order does not have to be by date/time. Double-click the CALL column header, and tada it will be in callsign order. Any column with * in the header can be sorted. The active sort column will have the header underlined. Normally you would want TIME RCVD or TIME POSTED.

Let me know if this doesn't resolve the issue.

Tnx & 73,

Dennis WN4AZY
N7IP
#5 Posted : Thursday, August 4, 2022 11:02:22 PM(UTC)
Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Posts: 176
Location: OR

Was thanked: 18 time(s) in 18 post(s)
dupe spots are for the same award. See the screen shot.
File Attachment(s):
n7ip.pdf (421kb) downloaded 19 time(s).
wa4pgm
#6 Posted : Friday, August 5, 2022 8:00:11 AM(UTC)
kchavis

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Administrators, Registered, Beta Testers
Posts: 330
Man
Location: Farmville, VA

Thanks: 26 times
Was thanked: 196 time(s) in 170 post(s)
The two spots were sent at different times.

0348 and 0349
1 user thanked wa4pgm for this useful post.
WN4AZY on 8/9/2022(UTC)
N7IP
#7 Posted : Monday, August 8, 2022 5:17:36 PM(UTC)
Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Posts: 176
Location: OR

Was thanked: 18 time(s) in 18 post(s)
Yes, I'm aware of that but spots are often made by multiple skimmers. My impression has been that Logic filters this out.


DENNIS, perhaps you could let us know if that's correct?

Bob
WN4AZY
#8 Posted : Tuesday, August 9, 2022 3:26:48 PM(UTC)
admin

Rank: Administration

Groups: Administrators, Beta Testers
Posts: 2,862
Man
Location: Auburn, GA

Thanks: 836 times
Was thanked: 440 time(s) in 359 post(s)
Nom sorry, it doesn't filter dupes out unless EVERYTHING is the same. CALL, SPOT-BY, FREQ, and COMMENT. So back in the days of packet radio, if you were disconnected, you could receive the exact same spot more than once as it skipped from node to node. But that won't help here.

Please advise how I would go about filtering them. Would an option to ignore SPOT-BY help? What does SPOT-BY look like in the sample you sent?
N7IP
#9 Posted : Tuesday, August 9, 2022 6:33:06 PM(UTC)
Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Posts: 176
Location: OR

Was thanked: 18 time(s) in 18 post(s)
The time posted for the dupe spots differs by one minute. I could see a filter with a selectable number of minutes between spots that are allowed to appear. For me, 5 or 10 minutes would be fine if everything else was the same. It that time, the next sport would simply say that the guy is still there.

Bob
w2zi
#10 Posted : Monday, August 22, 2022 2:54:44 PM(UTC)
Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Posts: 173
Man
Location: Daytona Beach

Thanks: 46 times
Was thanked: 60 time(s) in 56 post(s)
You also get this if the QSO is confirmed by LoTW and the particular award does not list LoTW as a valid method. The best example would be a CQ DX Magazine award; they don't take LoTW for credit. County Hunters is another example; he took our printed logs and picked 4-5 cards to mail in. It does get a little confusing to see in the progress window (set to CNTY) and have lots of 'w' entries. I could check the box saying the LoTW is good for this award but it's not. Until CQ comes out with something similar to LoTW and Dennis incorporates that, just have to live with it.
1 user thanked w2zi for this useful post.
WN4AZY on 8/24/2022(UTC)
Users browsing this topic
Guest
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

Powered by YAF 1.9.5.5 | YAF © 2003-2011, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 0.063 seconds.