logo
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

WebDriver errors
WN4AZY
#1 Posted : Sunday, November 7, 2021 10:14:01 AM(UTC)
admin

Rank: Administration

Groups: Administrators, Beta Testers
Posts: 2,736
Man
Location: Auburn, GA

Thanks: 759 times
Was thanked: 414 time(s) in 336 post(s)
Starting with LOGic 10, we began moving away from Internet Explorer as the browser that LOGic controls for LoTW, eQSL, CIA World Factbook, Callbooks, and Weather. The CIA World Factbook was the first to be converted. As of version 10.0.3, LoTW and eQSL and everything else was converted.

LOGic 10 will now use the default browser configured in Windows. Microsoft Edge, Google Chrome, Firefox, and Internet Explorer are supported. (I can't imagine that anyone still has IE as their default browser, but it is supported!) If you have some other browser (such as Opera or Safari) configured as your default browser, Edge will be used by LOGic.

A web driver program is needed for this to work. They are installed when you install LOGic. However, the driver and browser versions must be compatible. If you get an error saying something about WebDriver and versions, your web driver and browser versions are mismatched.

To resolve this, make sure you have the latest official release of your browser. If an update is available, you will be notified and it can be installed:

  • In Edge, click the ... in the top righthand corner of the browser. Click Help and Feedback, then About Microsoft Edge.
  • In Chrome, click the three dots in the top righthand corner of the browser. Click Help, then About Google Chrome.
  • In Firefox, click the three bars in the top righthand corner of the browser. Click Help, then About Firefox.


Now download and install the latest version of LOGic. Click Help/Abput/Check for Updates. Please do this even if you have previously installed the latest version. Sometimes we will add the latest webdrivers, but do not change the version number of LOGic since there are no changes to LOGic.exe.

We strive to keep the latest drivers in the latest LOGic install. However, if the above does not fix the problem, you may easily download the matching webdriver for your browser. Check the version of your browser as described in the bulleted list above, then download the proper version for your browser as described below:

  • https://developer.microsoft.com/en-us/microsoft-edge/tools/webdriver/

    msedgedriver.exe
    Get the 64-bit version unless you still have a 32-bit version of Windows. Either will work on the 64-bit version of Windows.

  • https://chromedriver.chromium.org/downloads

    chromedriver.exe
    There is only a 32-bit version of this.

  • https://github.com/mozilla/geckodriver/releases/

    geckodriver.exe
    Get the 64-bit version unless you still have a 32-bit version of Windows. Unlike Edge and Chrome, the webdriver versions do not match the browser version. For example, I have Firefox version 94.0.1, but the geckodriver version is 0.30.0.

Save the downloaded driver to the ASSEMBLY folder inside where LOGic is installed, typically c:\program files (x86)\logic\assembly. You may get a File in Use error when attempting to overwrite the old file. This is because the old driver is still running. You may use the Windows Task Manager to End Task on the driver, or simply reboot your computer.

If you want to test to make sure that you have matching webdrivers for all of your browsers, there is an easier way to do this than changing your Windows default browser and testing with LOGic. Simply go into tools/advanced/database commands. Type (or copy and paste, one line at a time) the following commends:

public br
br = oDotNetBridge.CreateAssemblyInstanceFromFile("assembly\PDA.webdriver.dll", "PDA.WebDriver.Browsers")
br.start("edge")
br.start("chrome")
br.start("firefox")
br.start("iexplore")

If there is a problem, the br.start() commmands will throw an error.

By the way,

br.start("")

will start your configured default browser (Edge, Chrome, Firefox, and Internet Explorer only. If you have another default browser configured, Edge will be used).

To programmatically navigate to a page, enter this command:

br.navigateto("http://hosenose.com")

The technology that makes all this possible is new and still under development. We can expect version issues to be a bit of a hassle at least for a while. Staying with Internet Explorer is not really an option anymore. I am not sure if the IE mode of Edge in in Win 11 is truly compatible with IE for remote control or not. Hopefully things will stabilize over time.
Sponsor
Note: We receive a commission from Amazon when you purchase via this link. It does not affect your cost. Thank you!
N5XZ
#2 Posted : Tuesday, March 8, 2022 4:55:39 PM(UTC)
Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Beta Testers
Posts: 367
Location: Richmond, TX

Thanks: 30 times
Was thanked: 46 time(s) in 44 post(s)
Still getting error messages. I have the latest version of Chrome installed:
Chrome is up to date
Version 99.0.4844.51 (Official Build) (64-bit)

Downloaded chromedriver.exe and placed in the correct folder.

Also getting error messages upon LOGic startup (see attached)
File Attachment(s):
20220308-1.PNG (11kb) downloaded 3 time(s).
20220308-2.PNG (11kb) downloaded 3 time(s).
20220308-3.PNG (8kb) downloaded 0 time(s).
73, Allen N5XZ
N5XZ
#3 Posted : Tuesday, March 8, 2022 5:20:46 PM(UTC)
Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Beta Testers
Posts: 367
Location: Richmond, TX

Thanks: 30 times
Was thanked: 46 time(s) in 44 post(s)
OK, all good now. I was able to make the proper adjustments to eliminate the error messages. Still, it was working fine 2 days ago...wonder what/how things changed.

Thanks Dennis
73, Allen N5XZ
WN4AZY
#4 Posted : Wednesday, March 9, 2022 7:18:38 PM(UTC)
admin

Rank: Administration

Groups: Administrators, Beta Testers
Posts: 2,736
Man
Location: Auburn, GA

Thanks: 759 times
Was thanked: 414 time(s) in 336 post(s)
Your browser probably updated itself.

Tnx/73,

Dennis WN4AZY
Users browsing this topic
Guest
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

Powered by YAF 1.9.5.5 | YAF © 2003-2011, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 0.051 seconds.