logo
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

LOGic Keyer? LOGic Winkeyer? Which should I use?
vk4iu
#1 Posted : Monday, March 3, 2014 6:21:47 PM(UTC)
VK4IU

Groups: Moderator, Registered, Administrators
Man

Was thanked: 77 time(s) in 68 post(s)
G'Day,

I have recently fielded several emails assisting members with using LOGic. For the benefit of all, restated here is much of the detail of those emails. I always answer all emails, but much prefer my assistance with LOGic be provided on this LOGic forum for the benefit of all members, minimising my effort.

The summary that follows is "risky business". Read it in the context of someone for whom sending reliable CW generated by LOGic during a contest proved impossible, but could not figure out why.

Clearly, many get a good result from their implementation of CW keying and computers. But, many are puzzled why they often do not get a perfect result.

I have no detailed knowledge of the internal workings of LOGic for sending CW. I do have a lot of experience getting PCs to do things for Amateur Radio. LOGic has both a "serial port DTR/RTS based" Keyer, and a Winkey driver for a Winkey based external device.

Please discuss the topic, but type gently, and be considerate to others.

I recommend using the LOGic Winkey driver and an external Winkey based CW device.

In 2014, using any version of Windows, sending CW using the DTR/RTS lines of an RS232 port, unassisted by additional software, or keying devices, is problematic at best.

RS232 on a PC used to follow "standards". Not in 2014. Not since the early 1990s. The wonderful thing about standards is that there are so many to choose from.