logo
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

WebDriver errors
WN4AZY
#1 Posted : Sunday, November 7, 2021 10:14:01 AM(UTC)
admin

Rank: Administration

Groups: Administrators, Beta Testers
Posts: 2,784
Man
Location: Auburn, GA

Thanks: 784 times
Was thanked: 423 time(s) in 345 post(s)
UPDATED May 18, 2022

Starting with LOGic 10, we began moving away from Internet Explorer as the browser that LOGic controls for LoTW, eQSL, CIA World Factbook, Callbooks, and Weather. The CIA World Factbook was the first to be converted. As of version 10.0.3, LoTW and eQSL and everything else was converted.

LOGic 10 will now use the default browser configured in Windows. Microsoft Edge, Google Chrome, Firefox, and Internet Explorer are supported. (I can't imagine that anyone still has IE as their default browser, but it is supported!) If you have some other browser (such as Opera or Safari) configured as your default browser, Edge will be used by LOGic.

A web driver program is needed for this to work. They are installed when you install LOGic. However, the driver and browser versions must be compatible. LOGic versions prior to 10.0.6 required that the proper driver version be installed. Otherwise, you got an error saying something about your web driver and browser versions being mismatched. This was particularly problematic because the browsers update themselves, and not all customers are going to have the same browser version. If we didn't update the driver in the distribution, customers would get errors when their browser updated. If we did update the driver version, it would break LOGic for a lot of customers that are currently working.

Fortunately, it was a simple matter to download and install the driver version that matches your browser. Simply download the new driver and copy it to the ASSEMBLY folder. However, this caused a lot of aggravation for our customers and us.

Starting with version 10.0.6, LOGic now ships with several versions of the webdrivers, and now loads the proper version of the driver for your current browser version. We have included several versions into the future, and will include newer ones as they become available. When your browser updates itself, it will no longer be necessary to update the web driver.

The drivers are stored in the ASSEMBY folder as before. Now, however, the driver name now includes the version. So instead of msedgedriver.exe, the drivers are now named msedgedriver100.exe, msedgedriver101.exe, etc. We will include the latest driver versions in the LOGic updates, so if you receive an error related to Webdriver, simply installing or reinstalling the latest update should fix the problem. Click Help/About/Check for Updates. Please do this even if you have previously installed the latest version. Sometimes we will add the latest webdrivers, but do not change the version number of LOGic since there are no changes to LOGic.exe itself

If on the off chance you get an error that such-and-such a driver file is not found (or you do not renew your update subscription), you may still fix this yourself.

First, make sure you have the latest official release of your browser. If an update is available, you will be notified and it can be installed:

  • In Edge, click the ... in the top righthand corner of the browser. Click Help and Feedback, then About Microsoft Edge.
  • In Chrome, click the three dots in the top righthand corner of the browser. Click Help, then About Google Chrome.
  • In Firefox, click the three bars in the top righthand corner of the browser. Click Help, then About Firefox.


Now go to the web site listed below for your browser.

  • https://developer.microsoft.com/en-us/microsoft-edge/tools/webdriver/

    msedgedriver.exe
    Get the 64-bit version unless you still have a 32-bit version of Windows. Either will work on the 64-bit version of Windows.

  • https://chromedriver.chromium.org/downloads

    chromedriver.exe
    There is only a 32-bit version of this.

  • https://github.com/mozilla/geckodriver/releases/

    geckodriver.exe
    Get the 64-bit version unless you still have a 32-bit version of Windows. Unlike Edge and Chrome, the webdriver versions do not match the browser version. For example, I have Firefox version 94.0.1, but the geckodriver version is 0.30.0.

    Unlike Edge and Chrome, Firefox does not seem to be picky about the driver verson.


Download the appropriate webdriver version for your browser. Be sure to get the version for Windows. Generally you will want the 64-bit version.

Save the downloaded driver to the ASSEMBLY folder inside where LOGic is installed, typically c:\program files (x86)\logic\assembly. Now you must rename the file. Simply add the version number of the driver after the name and before the extension. So, for instance, chromedriver.exe version 102 becomes chromedriver102.exe

If you want to test to make sure that you have matching webdrivers for all of your browsers, there is an easier way to do this than changing your Windows default browser and testing with LOGic. Simply go into tools/advanced/database commands. Type (or copy and paste, one line at a time) the following commends:

public br
br = oDotNetBridge.CreateAssemblyInstanceFromFile("assembly\PDA.webdriver.dll", "PDA.WebDriver.Browsers")
br.start("edge")
br.start("chrome")
br.start("firefox")
br.start("iexplore")

If there is a problem, the br.start() commmands will throw an error.

By the way,

br.start("")

will start your configured default browser (Edge, Chrome, Firefox, and Internet Explorer only. If you have a default browser other than Edge, Chrome, or Firefox configured, Edge will be used).

To programmatically navigate to a page, enter this command:

br.navigateto("http://hosenose.com")

The technology that makes all this possible is new and still under development. We can expect version issues to be a bit of a hassle at least for a while. Staying with Internet Explorer is not really an option anymore. I am not sure if the IE mode of Edge in in Win 11 is truly compatible with IE for remote control or not. Hopefully things will stabilize over time.
1 user thanked WN4AZY for this useful post.
KD0PO on 5/18/2022(UTC)
Sponsor
Note: We receive a commission from Amazon when you purchase via this link. It does not affect your cost. Thank you!
N5XZ
#2 Posted : Tuesday, March 8, 2022 4:55:39 PM(UTC)
Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Beta Testers
Posts: 367
Location: Richmond, TX

Thanks: 30 times
Was thanked: 46 time(s) in 44 post(s)
Still getting error messages. I have the latest version of Chrome installed:
Chrome is up to date
Version 99.0.4844.51 (Official Build) (64-bit)

Downloaded chromedriver.exe and placed in the correct folder.

Also getting error messages upon LOGic startup (see attached)
File Attachment(s):
20220308-1.PNG (11kb) downloaded 18 time(s).
20220308-2.PNG (11kb) downloaded 22 time(s).
20220308-3.PNG (8kb) downloaded 12 time(s).
73, Allen N5XZ
N5XZ
#3 Posted : Tuesday, March 8, 2022 5:20:46 PM(UTC)
Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Beta Testers
Posts: 367
Location: Richmond, TX

Thanks: 30 times
Was thanked: 46 time(s) in 44 post(s)
OK, all good now. I was able to make the proper adjustments to eliminate the error messages. Still, it was working fine 2 days ago...wonder what/how things changed.

Thanks Dennis
73, Allen N5XZ
WN4AZY
#4 Posted : Wednesday, March 9, 2022 7:18:38 PM(UTC)
admin

Rank: Administration

Groups: Administrators, Beta Testers
Posts: 2,784
Man
Location: Auburn, GA

Thanks: 784 times
Was thanked: 423 time(s) in 345 post(s)
Your browser probably updated itself.

Tnx/73,

Dennis WN4AZY
KD0PO
#5 Posted : Monday, May 16, 2022 8:31:27 AM(UTC)
dokxray

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Posts: 52
Location: USA

Thanks: 3 times
Was thanked: 7 time(s) in 7 post(s)
Originally Posted by: WN4AZY Go to Quoted Post
Your browser probably updated itself.

Tnx/73,

Dennis WN4AZY



Please update the web driver for chrome

Version 101.0.4951.67 (Official Build) (64-bit)

Thank you

KD0PO
WN4AZY
#6 Posted : Wednesday, May 18, 2022 10:20:10 AM(UTC)
admin

Rank: Administration

Groups: Administrators, Beta Testers
Posts: 2,784
Man
Location: Auburn, GA

Thanks: 784 times
Was thanked: 423 time(s) in 345 post(s)
Please see the first post of this thread.
1 user thanked WN4AZY for this useful post.
KD0PO on 5/18/2022(UTC)
KD0PO
#7 Posted : Wednesday, May 18, 2022 9:32:17 PM(UTC)
dokxray

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Posts: 52
Location: USA

Thanks: 3 times
Was thanked: 7 time(s) in 7 post(s)
Originally Posted by: WN4AZY Go to Quoted Post
Please see the first post of this thread.



I followed the instructions but get an error saying the driver can not be found

I've installed the newest version of logic today and get the same error..

what am I doing wrong?

Ok, I have chrome 64bit, is that the problem???

Ray
1 user thanked KD0PO for this useful post.
WN4AZY on 5/19/2022(UTC)
WN4AZY
#8 Posted : Thursday, May 19, 2022 1:42:26 PM(UTC)
admin

Rank: Administration

Groups: Administrators, Beta Testers
Posts: 2,784
Man
Location: Auburn, GA

Thanks: 784 times
Was thanked: 423 time(s) in 345 post(s)
Sorry, my fault. Please download and install 10.0.6 again.

Quote:
Ok, I have chrome 64bit, is that the problem???
Nope.

Tnx & 73,

Dennis WN4AZY
WN4AZY
#9 Posted : Friday, June 3, 2022 9:52:46 AM(UTC)
admin

Rank: Administration

Groups: Administrators, Beta Testers
Posts: 2,784
Man
Location: Auburn, GA

Thanks: 784 times
Was thanked: 423 time(s) in 345 post(s)
I installed Windows 11, which I THINK updated Edge to 102. LOGic continues to work!
Users browsing this topic
Guest (2)
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

Powered by YAF 1.9.5.5 | YAF © 2003-2011, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 0.091 seconds.