logo
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Rotator interface issue
N5XZ
#1 Posted : Friday, January 21, 2022 1:34:41 PM(UTC)
Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Beta Testers
Posts: 367
Location: Richmond, TX

Thanks: 30 times
Was thanked: 46 time(s) in 44 post(s)
I recently had a lightning strike which took out my USB to Serial interface cable I used for my GH Rotator. I purchased some new ones from DX Engineering, I thought they were FTDI but they are Prolific. I have tested them with my GH but nothing happens and no position feedback. I have verified the COM port in Device Manager...could be the RS-232 port in the GH is blown. Any way I can check that? How do I use the "Show com port status" icon in the lower right?

Suggestions?
73, Allen N5XZ
Sponsor
Note: We receive a commission from Amazon when you purchase via this link. It does not affect your cost. Thank you!
WN4AZY
#2 Posted : Sunday, January 23, 2022 4:44:33 PM(UTC)
admin

Rank: Administration

Groups: Administrators, Beta Testers
Posts: 2,736
Man
Location: Auburn, GA

Thanks: 759 times
Was thanked: 414 time(s) in 336 post(s)
Sorry about the lightning strike.

Quote:
I have verified the COM port in Device Manager...could be the RS-232 port in the GH is blown. Any way I can check that?
That would be a question for the rotor mfgr.

Quote:
How do I use the "Show com port status" icon in the lower right?
Just click it. If it takes a really long time, there is a problem with one of the ports. It should time out and show the display eventually.

Let me know.

Tnx & 73,

Dennis WN4AZY
wa4pgm
#3 Posted : Monday, January 24, 2022 7:53:10 AM(UTC)
kchavis

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Administrators, Registered, Beta Testers
Posts: 312
Man
Location: Farmville, VA

Thanks: 24 times
Was thanked: 180 time(s) in 156 post(s)
I believe GH uses FTDI, try a FTDI cable.
Kyle
1 user thanked wa4pgm for this useful post.
WN4AZY on 1/24/2022(UTC)
N5XZ
#4 Posted : Monday, January 24, 2022 8:05:06 AM(UTC)
Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Beta Testers
Posts: 367
Location: Richmond, TX

Thanks: 30 times
Was thanked: 46 time(s) in 44 post(s)
I just got one in yesterday with status led's, will try it today.
73, Allen N5XZ
1 user thanked N5XZ for this useful post.
WN4AZY on 1/25/2022(UTC)
N5XZ
#5 Posted : Tuesday, January 25, 2022 8:05:19 PM(UTC)
Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Beta Testers
Posts: 367
Location: Richmond, TX

Thanks: 30 times
Was thanked: 46 time(s) in 44 post(s)
I think it is a blown serial port (really old unit). GH does repairs for $59. I think I will send it in for repair, unless there is some advantage to a new unit for a TTX rotator. Then Jeff will give me $100 for a trade-in.
73, Allen N5XZ
1 user thanked N5XZ for this useful post.
WN4AZY on 1/27/2022(UTC)
Users browsing this topic
Guest
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

Powered by YAF 1.9.5.5 | YAF © 2003-2011, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 0.027 seconds.