logo
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

incorrect mode when spot comes from a skimmer
N7IP
#1 Posted : Saturday, February 11, 2017 8:02:58 PM(UTC)
Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Posts: 83
Location: MT

Was thanked: 6 time(s) in 6 post(s)
I've noticed that when a spot from a skimmer is identified as rtty, Logic uses the freq to determine the mode. It would be nice if Logic picked up the mode from the skimmer.

Bob, N7IP
Sponsor
WN4AZY
#2 Posted : Sunday, February 12, 2017 7:33:26 PM(UTC)
admin

Rank: Administration

Groups: Administrators, Beta Testers
Posts: 1,934
Man
Location: Auburn, GA

Thanks: 276 times
Was thanked: 247 time(s) in 192 post(s)
Hi Bob:

Pse tell me how to receive skimmer spots. Are they on DX Summit? Are they the ones where the posting call ends in #?

Tnx & 73,

Dennis WN4AZY
N7IP
#3 Posted : Sunday, February 12, 2017 7:47:04 PM(UTC)
Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Posts: 83
Location: MT

Was thanked: 6 time(s) in 6 post(s)
I set up my VE7CC client to provide spots from skimmers. Yes, they I think they are identified by the # sign. Here are two examples of the comment field:

cw 18 db 12 wpm cq
rtty 22 db cq

So if you parse for "rtty" you know it is a rtty signal.

Bob
WN4AZY
#4 Posted : Sunday, February 12, 2017 10:32:33 PM(UTC)
admin

Rank: Administration

Groups: Administrators, Beta Testers
Posts: 1,934
Man
Location: Auburn, GA

Thanks: 276 times
Was thanked: 247 time(s) in 192 post(s)
Thanks -- I'm letting it run now.

It DOES look for RTTY or RYRY anywhere in the COMMENT field of the spot, and if so, treats it as RTTY. Look in the MODE & ACTUALMODE fields. I haven't gotten any skimmer RTTY spots yet, but I see no reason why they would be treated differently than any other spot.

Tnx & 73,

Dennis WN4AZY
N7IP
#5 Posted : Monday, February 13, 2017 2:19:10 PM(UTC)
Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Posts: 83
Location: MT

Was thanked: 6 time(s) in 6 post(s)
I still see the occasional error and wonder if the mode set in the band map over rides what's in the comment field? See the attached PDF.

Bob
File Attachment(s):
spot.pdf (428kb) downloaded 9 time(s).
WN4AZY
#6 Posted : Monday, February 13, 2017 6:44:33 PM(UTC)
admin

Rank: Administration

Groups: Administrators, Beta Testers
Posts: 1,934
Man
Location: Auburn, GA

Thanks: 276 times
Was thanked: 247 time(s) in 192 post(s)
Are you referring to the hilighted record? It has

cw 10 db 22 wpm ncdxf bcn

in the comment.

In this case LOGic will get the mode from the band table. It only gets DATA modes from the comment field.

It properly determined the mode as RTTY from the spot of IK2ZEC a few lines above.

So I think everything is working as designed. That doesn't mean it can't be improved. For Skimmer spots, I can get the mode from the comment field when it is CW. The formatting looks pretty consistent.

Are there any other skimmer modes I should look for?

Tnx & 73,

Dennis WN4AZY
N7IP
#7 Posted : Monday, February 13, 2017 8:16:33 PM(UTC)
Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Posts: 83
Location: MT

Was thanked: 6 time(s) in 6 post(s)
The change I would suggest is to get the mode from the skimmer, not the band table. This is especially valuable for DATA because a RTTY, PSK31, or bpsk signal could be anywhere (I'm not sure what sig types the skimmers identify besides these--maybe JT65?). The skimmer will always be correct whereas the mode table is only a static guess.

Bob
WN4AZY
#8 Posted : Wednesday, February 15, 2017 9:55:39 AM(UTC)
admin

Rank: Administration

Groups: Administrators, Beta Testers
Posts: 1,934
Man
Location: Auburn, GA

Thanks: 276 times
Was thanked: 247 time(s) in 192 post(s)
It is getting data modes from the comment in all QSOs now, not just skimmer spots. If you see a case where this is not working let me know. I check for RTTY, RYRY, PSK31, etc. There could be others that I have not covered, and I should add these, not just for skimmer spots.

I agree, for skimmer spots, I can get the mode from the comment in all cases. That would cover the few cases where someone is operating CW in the phone portion of the band.

Tnx & 73,

Dennis WN4AZY
N7IP
#9 Posted : Wednesday, February 15, 2017 11:34:40 AM(UTC)
Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Posts: 83
Location: MT

Was thanked: 6 time(s) in 6 post(s)
Dennis, the spot.pdf file I sent earlier is an example. Here is another example. In the error field, it says "freq not in band table".

Bob
File Attachment(s):
spot2.pdf (437kb) downloaded 8 time(s).
WN4AZY
#10 Posted : Sunday, February 19, 2017 11:00:45 AM(UTC)
admin

Rank: Administration

Groups: Administrators, Beta Testers
Posts: 1,934
Man
Location: Auburn, GA

Thanks: 276 times
Was thanked: 247 time(s) in 192 post(s)
Ok, something's wrong with the band table then. Attached is a screen shot of my 80M entries.

Tnx & 73,

Dennis WN4AZY
File Attachment(s):
Capture.JPG (97kb) downloaded 4 time(s).
N7IP
#11 Posted : Sunday, February 19, 2017 12:23:23 PM(UTC)
Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Posts: 83
Location: MT

Was thanked: 6 time(s) in 6 post(s)
Yes, there was a gap in the band table. Thanks for pointing it out. But I still think my suggestion in post #7 above would help spotting accuracy. As I understand it, with your 80m band table, there would be no DATA spots, even if the skimmer indicated rtty in the comment field.

As you can see from the attached screen shot, a 20m cw station shows as a DATA mode because the freq falls into the rtty section of my band table.

Bob
File Attachment(s):
spot3.pdf (531kb) downloaded 3 time(s).
WN4AZY
#12 Posted : Wednesday, February 22, 2017 9:24:03 AM(UTC)
admin

Rank: Administration

Groups: Administrators, Beta Testers
Posts: 1,934
Man
Location: Auburn, GA

Thanks: 276 times
Was thanked: 247 time(s) in 192 post(s)
I agree -- I was working on it but didn't get it completed in time for the last update. It is done now and will be in the next.

BTW, all of the modes set with an award mode of DATA in tools/setup/modes are determined by looking in the comment area of the spot.

Tnx & 73,

Dennis WN4AZY
Users browsing this topic
Guest
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

Powered by YAF 1.9.5.5 | YAF © 2003-2011, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 0.078 seconds.