logo
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Memory Management Error
K1VC
#1 Posted : Tuesday, February 19, 2019 1:05:45 PM(UTC)
Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Posts: 191
Location: CT

Thanks: 7 times
Was thanked: 28 time(s) in 25 post(s)
Hi,

The laptop that runs my LOGic9 has suddenly started to give me BSOD Memory Management Error. I've googled this and went through all the processes/procedures to fix it. I still get the BSOD. Before I dump money into new RAM, is there a website that I can safely use to upload the dump file so I can see what is causing the BSOD?

I checked all the network drivers, audio drivers, video drivers, performed chkdsk, memory diagnostic tool, increased the virtual memory, performed all Windows update and Lenovo updates and I ran SFC.

All the tests, even the chkdsk scan that ran over 2 hours, all tests came back without any issues. The only way I can figure this out is to read the dump files to see what is causing the issue.

I should mention, this happens when I close LOGoc9 it doesn't happen when I close N1MM+ Logger or a browser, so it's specific to one application.

Thanks,
Vin, 73
K1VC
Sponsor
Note: We receive a commission from Amazon when you purchase via this link. It does not affect your cost. Thank you!
wa4pgm
#2 Posted : Tuesday, February 19, 2019 7:48:13 PM(UTC)
kchavis

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Administrators, Registered, Beta Testers
Posts: 230
Location: Farmville, VA

Thanks: 15 times
Was thanked: 121 time(s) in 105 post(s)
Does the BSOD happen if LOGic isn't running?
1 user thanked wa4pgm for this useful post.
WN4AZY on 2/28/2019(UTC)
K1VC
#3 Posted : Wednesday, February 20, 2019 7:52:46 AM(UTC)
Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Posts: 191
Location: CT

Thanks: 7 times
Was thanked: 28 time(s) in 25 post(s)
I'll boot up the laptop and let it run without any programs running and will reply later today. I think if I can rad the dump file, that should tell me what the issue is.
wa4pgm
#4 Posted : Wednesday, February 20, 2019 8:08:02 AM(UTC)
kchavis

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Administrators, Registered, Beta Testers
Posts: 230
Location: Farmville, VA

Thanks: 15 times
Was thanked: 121 time(s) in 105 post(s)
I found this with Google.

https://www.nirsoft.net/...s/blue_screen_view.html

Never used this myself but might be helpful in reading the dump files.
1 user thanked wa4pgm for this useful post.
WN4AZY on 2/28/2019(UTC)
K1VC
#5 Posted : Wednesday, February 20, 2019 11:37:27 AM(UTC)
Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Posts: 191
Location: CT

Thanks: 7 times
Was thanked: 28 time(s) in 25 post(s)
Thank you !

The laptop has been running for a few hours and still no BSOD. I even opened LOGic, made a few CW and FT8 QSO's, logged them, uploaded to LoTW, shut down LOGic and still no BSOD. I'll let the laptop run a few more hours and see what happens.

After 5 hours of no activity, I rebooted the laptop and guess what, BSOD.

I installed and ran Blue Screen View app and it showed the culprit:

ntoskrnl.exe caused the error.

Now, I'm searching Google for a fix BigGrin
WN4AZY
#6 Posted : Thursday, February 28, 2019 10:06:09 AM(UTC)
admin

Rank: Administration

Groups: Administrators, Beta Testers
Posts: 2,257
Man
Location: Auburn, GA

Thanks: 442 times
Was thanked: 305 time(s) in 242 post(s)
https://www.drivereasy.c...ath-error-in-windows-7/

I would start with running MEMTEST. My money says it is RAM.

Tnx & 73,

Dennis WN4AZY
K1VC
#7 Posted : Friday, March 1, 2019 9:56:35 AM(UTC)
Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Posts: 191
Location: CT

Thanks: 7 times
Was thanked: 28 time(s) in 25 post(s)
Hi Dennis,

I ran the Windows Memory Diagnostic Tool 5 different times. Each time, it came back without any errors. I wish it came back with an error, replacing RAM is an easy fix BigGrin

Thanks,
Vin, 73
K1VC
Users browsing this topic
Guest
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

Powered by YAF 1.9.5.5 | YAF © 2003-2011, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 0.274 seconds.