logo
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Using function keys with Telnet
K7PDW
#1 Posted : Sunday, November 18, 2018 2:20:32 PM(UTC)
DAVE

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Posts: 61
Location: Syracuse, Utah

Thanks: 11 times
Was thanked: 8 time(s) in 8 post(s)
I'm trying to program the terminal function keys with commands to control dx cluster NC7J. The expression builder keep giving me errors. For example: set/dx/filter Spotterstate=tx or Spotterstate=ok or Spotterstate=nm The expression build said error so I started to delete the command a section at a time and finally got all the way back to set/dx/filter and still got an error. I also tried it with spaces in place of slash. NC7J dx cluster will accept both. Still had errors.

So I decided to try uploading files with various commands and that worked as far a NC7J was concerned but after upload the mouse pointer remained in the busy circle and would not return to the arrow. I had to go back to the computer's mouse settings and apply the mouse pointer settings again.

Anyone have any ideas what I am doing wrong in either of these situations?

Dave,K7PDW
Sponsor
wa4pgm
#2 Posted : Sunday, November 18, 2018 4:00:52 PM(UTC)
kchavis

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Beta Testers
Posts: 189
Location: Farmville, VA

Thanks: 14 times
Was thanked: 97 time(s) in 84 post(s)
Here is some examples I use.

Description: sh/d
Expression: "sh/dx/100{CR}"

sh/u
"sh/u{CR}"

wa4pgm
"wa4pgm{CR}"
1 user thanked wa4pgm for this useful post.
WN4AZY on 11/18/2018(UTC)
K7PDW
#3 Posted : Monday, November 19, 2018 2:47:45 PM(UTC)
DAVE

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Posts: 61
Location: Syracuse, Utah

Thanks: 11 times
Was thanked: 8 time(s) in 8 post(s)
I'm not having problems with AR-Custer syntax. I can type the commands directly into NC7J from Logic 9's telnet 1 window without problems, but when I try to type the same commands into the terminal function keys Logic 9's expression build says there are syntax errors.

Example: set/dx/filter spottercont=na
Example: set dx filter spottercont=na

When I type these into the telnet window either one works. Type the same thing into the terminal function keys and the expression builder claims the word "filter" is a syntax error.

There seems to be something about the expression builder error checking that doesn't like certain words.


Dave
wa4pgm
#4 Posted : Monday, November 19, 2018 4:26:49 PM(UTC)
kchavis

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Beta Testers
Posts: 189
Location: Farmville, VA

Thanks: 14 times
Was thanked: 97 time(s) in 84 post(s)
I logged into NC7J and used the Expression builder for the Terminal Func Keys

"set/dx/filter spottercont=na"

be sure to include the quotes. Verify ok and NC7J seems to accept it.

See if that works??

2 users thanked wa4pgm for this useful post.
WN4AZY on 11/19/2018(UTC), K7PDW on 11/20/2018(UTC)
K7PDW
#5 Posted : Tuesday, November 20, 2018 11:14:01 AM(UTC)
DAVE

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Posts: 61
Location: Syracuse, Utah

Thanks: 11 times
Was thanked: 8 time(s) in 8 post(s)
Thank you. Somewhere I got the idea that the quote marks would also be transmitter to NC7J and quote marks are not part of the AR-Cluster language as far as I know. Once I included the quote marks in the expression builder syntax the AR commands worked as expected.

Thanks again
Dave, K7DPW
Users browsing this topic
Guest (2)
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

Powered by YAF 1.9.5.5 | YAF © 2003-2011, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 0.043 seconds.