logo
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

FT8 new mode
W8OI
#1 Posted : Saturday, July 15, 2017 10:57:16 AM(UTC)
Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Posts: 36
Location: Huntington, WV

Thanks: 2 times
LOGic could use a new mode choice. FT8 is fast becoming THE new big mode. I understand the Bouvet DXpedition will be using it. I am logging all FT8 QSOs as JT65 now but need to change them to show FT8 in my log once LOGic provides FT8 as a mode choice. Will this be happening soon?
Sponsor
WN4AZY
#2 Posted : Sunday, July 16, 2017 8:29:31 AM(UTC)
admin

Rank: Administration

Groups: Administrators, Beta Testers
Posts: 1,934
Man
Location: Auburn, GA

Thanks: 276 times
Was thanked: 247 time(s) in 192 post(s)
Thanks, I will add it.

BUT, you can easily add it yourself. Tools/setup/modes.

Tnx & 73,

Dennis WN4AZY
2 users thanked WN4AZY for this useful post.
W8OI on 7/16/2017(UTC), K1VC on 9/3/2017(UTC)
w3bs
#3 Posted : Saturday, August 5, 2017 6:41:15 AM(UTC)
Rank: Member

Groups: Registered
Posts: 20
Location: MEMPHIS, TN

Thanks: 6 times
Was thanked: 5 time(s) in 4 post(s)
anticipating arrl adopting ft8 in a similar fashion as it did with jt65 .... and having a WAS digital endorsement of FT8 as it does JT65 .... we could use the ability on the form "progress list1" - the ability to get a summary by STATE and MODE, as opposed to STATE and DATA as we do now

73 de
w3bs
buddy
wa4pgm
#5 Posted : Saturday, August 5, 2017 6:17:43 PM(UTC)
Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Beta Testers
Posts: 127
Location: Farmville, VA

Thanks: 9 times
Was thanked: 50 time(s) in 44 post(s)
You can already add any mode you like to LOGic whether it FT8 or ABC123.

Click on Tools>Setup>Modes

Add the modes of your choice.
73 Kyle
WN4AZY
#4 Posted : Monday, August 7, 2017 5:40:19 PM(UTC)
admin

Rank: Administration

Groups: Administrators, Beta Testers
Posts: 1,934
Man
Location: Auburn, GA

Thanks: 276 times
Was thanked: 247 time(s) in 192 post(s)
Originally Posted by: w3bs Go to Quoted Post
anticipating arrl adopting ft8 in a similar fashion as it did with jt65 .... and having a WAS digital endorsement of FT8 as it does JT65 .... we could use the ability on the form "progress list1" - the ability to get a summary by STATE and MODE, as opposed to STATE and DATA as we do now

73 de
w3bs
buddy

Hope they do that. BTW, the CONFIG.XML file located where TQSL is installed has all sorts of interesting stuff, including all acceptable modes.

You can easily report say just JT65 on awards progress. Just set up a subaward. In this case, go to tools/setup/log fields. Locate STATE. Enter JT65 for the description, and MODE="JT65 " for the select criteria. Clicking the funnel button will help you create complex definitions without knowing any computer syntax.

Tnx & 73,

Dennis WN4AZY
WN4AZY
#6 Posted : Monday, August 14, 2017 9:47:07 AM(UTC)
admin

Rank: Administration

Groups: Administrators, Beta Testers
Posts: 1,934
Man
Location: Auburn, GA

Thanks: 276 times
Was thanked: 247 time(s) in 192 post(s)
I got word from W8OI that, according to FT8 should be added ADIF and TQSL today. However, I downloaded the latest TQSL which included the 11.1 version of CONFIG.XML. FT8 is not there yet. So try later!

Tnx & 73,

Dennis
WN4AZY
#7 Posted : Monday, August 14, 2017 7:45:22 PM(UTC)
admin

Rank: Administration

Groups: Administrators, Beta Testers
Posts: 1,934
Man
Location: Auburn, GA

Thanks: 276 times
Was thanked: 247 time(s) in 192 post(s)
Ok, it looks like FT8 is in TQSL now.
WN4AZY
#8 Posted : Thursday, September 14, 2017 10:05:39 PM(UTC)
admin

Rank: Administration

Groups: Administrators, Beta Testers
Posts: 1,934
Man
Location: Auburn, GA

Thanks: 276 times
Was thanked: 247 time(s) in 192 post(s)
I added FT8 to our master tables and the 9.1.21 update. I also added other modes listed in the TQSL XML file.

The modes table normally does not get replaced when you do an update. This is done to preserve any entries or changes you may have made to the modes table. It is a simple matter to add any new modes manually. However, you may install the factory modes table as follows:

*Open the LOGic install folder in Windows Explorer. This is c:\program files (x86)\logic or c:\program files (x86)\logic, unless you specified a different location on installation.

*Open the LOGDATA folder.

*Delete MODES.DBF

*Run UPDATER under LOGic in the Windows start menu, or type UPDATER in the Windows search box. Run the UPDATER Desktop App. Install the latest update.
Users browsing this topic
Guest
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

Powered by YAF 1.9.5.5 | YAF © 2003-2011, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 0.062 seconds.