logo
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

JT65-HF Interface
N8VZ
#1 Posted : Monday, April 22, 2013 2:26:00 PM(UTC)
cjdenbow

Rank: Member

Groups: Registered, Beta Testers
Posts: 21
Man
Location: EM89wh

I've been using a program called JT65-HF by Joe, W6CQZ, for the new digital mode JT-65. If possible, I would love to see LOGic have an interface with this program in the same manner as the MixW interface. I believe that an OLE hook is there in the program from some comments that have been made in the JT65 "chat room" (http://jt65.w6cqz.org/main0.php). Any possibility of this, Dennis?

73,

Carl
N8VZ
Sponsor
K1VC
#2 Posted : Tuesday, October 18, 2016 2:56:03 PM(UTC)
Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Posts: 152
Location: CT

Thanks: 7 times
Was thanked: 20 time(s) in 18 post(s)
Has anyone managed to get this program or WSJT-X to work with a FT-1000D, microham digikeyer II interface and LOGic9?

Thanks,
Vin, 73
K1VC
WN4AZY
#3 Posted : Tuesday, October 18, 2016 10:05:44 PM(UTC)
admin

Rank: Administration

Groups: Administrators, Beta Testers
Posts: 1,838
Man
Location: Auburn, GA

Thanks: 225 times
Was thanked: 234 time(s) in 171 post(s)
http://physics.princeton.edu/pulsar/K1JT/

WJST has an interface that creates an ADIF file on the fly. The logging program can watch this file and lot when it sees a new record. We are working on this.

I hope WJST-X does the same thing.
http://physics.princeton...u/pulsar/K1JT/wsjtx.html
K1VC
#6 Posted : Tuesday, October 18, 2016 10:12:52 PM(UTC)
Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Posts: 152
Location: CT

Thanks: 7 times
Was thanked: 20 time(s) in 18 post(s)
Should I have installed WSJT and not WSJT-X?

I'm still trying to figure out what mode my radio must be in to transmit using the microham digikeyer II. All of the guides say "USB" but when I "tune" WJST-X, it doesn't transmit because it's keying up my mic rather than my interface Confused

I can receive and decode but the transmit is what I need to figure out.

Vin
wa4pgm
#7 Posted : Wednesday, October 19, 2016 2:21:30 PM(UTC)
Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Beta Testers
Posts: 106
Location: Farmville, VA

Thanks: 9 times
Was thanked: 32 time(s) in 29 post(s)
I use WSJT-X (MSK144) almost daily with my Icom 756 Pro II. Mode is set to USB.
microHAM is set to key PTT on COM8 RTS, CAT is COM7 and then set WSJT-X (File>Setting>Radio) to those values.
Be sure you have the MIC cable from the microHAM to the MIC on the rig connected.
Kyle
K1VC
#8 Posted : Wednesday, October 19, 2016 6:08:23 PM(UTC)
Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Posts: 152
Location: CT

Thanks: 7 times
Was thanked: 20 time(s) in 18 post(s)
Kyle,

That might be the problem. My digikeyer doesn't come with a mic cable. Everything connects to the back of the radio.

http://microham-usa.com/...duct-info.php?pid2.html
http://microham-usa.com/...-list.php?pg2-cid9.html (I have the DB15-FT-1000 cables)

The microkeyer II has a mic cable.

I might have to post to the microham group and see what they say.

Vin
wa4pgm
#9 Posted : Wednesday, October 19, 2016 6:56:53 PM(UTC)
Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Beta Testers
Posts: 106
Location: Farmville, VA

Thanks: 9 times
Was thanked: 32 time(s) in 29 post(s)
1 user thanked wa4pgm for this useful post.
WN4AZY on 10/24/2016(UTC)
K1VC
#10 Posted : Wednesday, October 19, 2016 7:43:25 PM(UTC)
Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Posts: 152
Location: CT

Thanks: 7 times
Was thanked: 20 time(s) in 18 post(s)
Thank you Kyle, I'll give that a try.

Vin

Here's what I received from microham:

> How are you keying the radio if the DB15 cables don't come with a mic connector?

All microHAM DB15 cables include PTT - for the FT-1000(D) PTT is pin 1 of the 5 pin DIN PACKET plug.

> I am using a Yaesu FT-1000D, DGII and WSJT-X.

The Yaesu FT-1000(D) - as with all Yaesu transceivers prior to the FT-2000/FT-950 generation - supported digital modes (AFSK, Packet)
only in lower sideband. If you want to operate in USB you will need to make an adapter to connect audio/PTT to the mic jack or
the "PATCH" and PTT jacks on the rear of the rig. *IN ADDITION* you will need to disconnect the microphone and disable the speech
processor in the rig.

For the DB15-FT-1000D cable, the adapter will need to be a 5 pin *FEMALE* DIN with mic audio connected from pin 1 of the DIN to
pin 8 of a mic plug, pin 3 of the DIN connected to *both* pins 5 and 7 of the mic plug and pin 3 of the DIN connected to pin 6
of the mic plug. Alternatively, the 5 pin FEMALE DIN can be connected to two RCA plugs - pin 1 to the tip of an RCA plug
(PATCH), pin 5 to the tip of a second RCA plug (PTT) with the shields of both RCA plugs connected to pin 2 of the 5 pin FEMALE DIN.

Similar adapters will be required to use USB in all obsolete Yaesu transceivers. The specifics of the adapters will depend
on the DB15 cable assembly and transceiver.


I still have no idea what mode to put the radio in to decode and transmit. If WSJT-X requires me to be in USB to decode and transmit, and I don't want to
make up another cable, what mode should the radio be in to decode and allow me to transmit?

PKT puts the radio in PKT/LSB and RTTY puts the radio in RTTY/USB or RTTY/LSB.

I've been searching you tube and google for 2 days. I read the DGII setup with WSJT and I'm able to receive but still can't transmit.

UPDATE:

Since *all legacy Yaesu transceivers lack support* for audio based digital modes in USB and many software authors are too lazy to provide
for LSB operation, you are SOL without making an adapter cable to use the mic or "patch" inputs.


I've uninstalled all WSJT software. One digital mode I won't be using until I either upgrade my radio or make the adapter cable.
wa4pgm
#11 Posted : Thursday, October 20, 2016 2:50:39 PM(UTC)
Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered, Beta Testers
Posts: 106
Location: Farmville, VA

Thanks: 9 times
Was thanked: 32 time(s) in 29 post(s)
I see Joe W4TV glad you the answer. If you prefer not to make the cable yourself you might be able to find one by placing a want ad on SWAP.QTH.COM, eHam Classified, eBay, etc...
If you've been a good boy maybe Santa has a new rig for you this year?
73 Kyle
1 user thanked wa4pgm for this useful post.
WN4AZY on 10/24/2016(UTC)
K1VC
#12 Posted : Thursday, October 20, 2016 3:15:05 PM(UTC)
Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Posts: 152
Location: CT

Thanks: 7 times
Was thanked: 20 time(s) in 18 post(s)
I've been a good boy but I have children going to college soon....I don't see a new radio in my future. Sad

If I get bored over the winter, I might make the cable.

Vin, 73

UPDATE: I put my SignaLink USB back in line, connected the necessary cables for it to work and I've been having fun on JT65 ! After several hours of working out the com ports and audio errors, I now have my Microham digikeyer II and Tigertronics SignaLink USB working together !

ThumpUp ThumpUp
K8ZT
#4 Posted : Friday, January 20, 2017 12:28:09 PM(UTC)
aluscre

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Registered
Posts: 35
Location: Stow, OH

Thanks: 1 times
Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
Originally Posted by: WN4AZY Go to Quoted Post
http://physics.princeton.edu/pulsar/K1JT/

WJST has an interface that creates an ADIF file on the fly. The logging program can watch this file and lot when it sees a new record. We are working on this.

I hope WJST-X does the same thing.
http://physics.princeton...u/pulsar/K1JT/wsjtx.html


Dennis, any progress on this?
If you need any testing please let me know and I will be happy to as I am using WSJT-X frequently.

Anthony

K2WH
#5 Posted : Sunday, January 22, 2017 2:54:55 PM(UTC)
Rank: Member

Groups: Registered
Posts: 23
Location: New Jersey

Was thanked: 2 time(s) in 2 post(s)
Originally Posted by: K8ZT Go to Quoted Post
Originally Posted by: WN4AZY Go to Quoted Post
http://physics.princeton.edu/pulsar/K1JT/

WJST has an interface that creates an ADIF file on the fly. The logging program can watch this file and lot when it sees a new record. We are working on this.

I hope WJST-X does the same thing.
http://physics.princeton...u/pulsar/K1JT/wsjtx.html


Dennis, any progress on this?
If you need any testing please let me know and I will be happy to as I am using WSJT-X frequently.

Anthony



An interface from Logic to JT65 would make my world complete.

K2WH
WN4AZY
#13 Posted : Monday, January 23, 2017 10:30:29 AM(UTC)
admin

Rank: Administration

Groups: Administrators, Beta Testers
Posts: 1,838
Man
Location: Auburn, GA

Thanks: 225 times
Was thanked: 234 time(s) in 171 post(s)
Thanks for mentioning it. I worked on it some yesterday. I have the file monitor tied into LOGic now. Now just a matter of parsing the ADIF and logging it.

Stay tuned!

73,

Dennis WN4AZY
4z5sl
#14 Posted : Monday, April 17, 2017 5:55:05 AM(UTC)
Rank: Member

Groups: Registered
Posts: 26
Location: Givat Ela

Thanks: 1 times
Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
Hi.
Any news in regards to auto logging qso from jt65 hf.
I am using JTdx software. can you check if it will log from it as well.
by the way I am using the auto logging from Mixw. Works great!!!
thank you
Dan
4Z5SL
Users browsing this topic
Guest
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

Powered by YAF 1.9.5.5 | YAF © 2003-2011, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 0.140 seconds.