logo
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Forum errors
vk4iu
#1 Posted : Sunday, November 10, 2013 7:55:12 PM(UTC)
VK4IU

Rank: Advanced Member

Groups: Moderator, Registered, Administrators
Posts: 404
Man
Location: Coolabunia QLD

Thanks: 6 times
Was thanked: 77 time(s) in 68 post(s)
Hi Dennis,

I love this forum software you use. It is the best by far. The only thing I miss is a spelling checker.

This morning I was again reminded of the smooth implementation of the forum.

I was in the middle of a long reply to Bill W7OO on Alert Log filtering, not to mention my own self education, when the following burst upon my browser screen - in the middle of typing text.

Quote:
Startup Error: Unable to connect to the Database. Exception Message: A connection was successfully established with the server, but then an error occurred during the pre-login handshake. (provider: TCP Provider, error: 0 - An existing connection was forcibly closed by the remote host.) (10054)

Please contact the administrator if this message persists.


... it happened three times over a space of a few minutes.

Where did my 60 minutes of analysis and typing go!!!!

I need not have worried. With great trepidation I clicked the browser BACK button and "hey presto" all but the last few liness were there for me to continue. I quickly took my own local text backup, and pressed on.

On the first occurrence I had a small "heart attack". By the second and third error, I was a "forum seasoned veteran" - able to take the blows in my stride!

The implementation of AJAX on this forum is fantastic. You chose well. On other forums I have lost many a long message or email to such errors.

I have no idea what the message implies. If it had happened ONCE, I would have ignored it. After THREE times I thought you should be at least aware of it happening.

Afterwards, when I checked my email I had three notifications of Bill's last post on the topic. That may tell you something.

My priority: N/A

Peter VK4IU
Peter VK4IU
You can help by posting images of any errors and including your Logic version.
Sponsor
Note: We receive a commission from Amazon when you purchase via this link. It does not affect your cost. Thank you!
WN4AZY
#3 Posted : Tuesday, November 12, 2013 12:22:52 PM(UTC)
admin

Rank: Administration

Groups: Administrators, Beta Testers
Posts: 2,271
Man
Location: Auburn, GA

Thanks: 448 times
Was thanked: 306 time(s) in 243 post(s)
Thanks.

There is a newer version of YAFF for me to install, so hopefully that will address some issues. I think the PHP one is actually better, but I am not that familiar with PHP. Anyway, this gets the job done. The only thing it is missing that I would like to see is an interface to the Tapatalk mobile phone app. Some guys are talking about doing it. I think the newer version is more spam proof BTW.

The spell chec should not be a function of the server software, but of your browser. I am using IE10 and it works very well. I will attach a screen shot showing the intentional misspelling of "check" earlier in this paragraph.

Tnx & 73,

Dennis WN4AZY

File Attachment(s):
capture.jpg (54kb) downloaded 59 time(s).
Users browsing this topic
Guest
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

Powered by YAF 1.9.5.5 | YAF © 2003-2011, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 0.037 seconds.