logo
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

User defined fields and moving from L8 to L9
WD8ELH
#1 Posted : Thursday, May 23, 2013 5:11:24 PM(UTC)
Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Posts: 6
Location: Michigan

I just installed Logic9 and did a backup from L8 and a restore to L9. All appears to be fine. My question is: I made use of some user fields in L8 that don't show in L9. Not unexpected.

Can I copy the main.logform file from L8 to L9 (with I assume a name change) to L9. Will that work, as a way to see the changed fields in L9?

Thanks,

Jared WD8ELH
Sponsor
Note: We receive a commission from Amazon when you purchase via this link. It does not affect your cost. Thank you!
WN4AZY
#2 Posted : Monday, May 27, 2013 12:09:50 PM(UTC)
admin

Rank: Administration

Groups: Administrators, Beta Testers
Posts: 2,244
Man
Location: Auburn, GA

Thanks: 429 times
Was thanked: 302 time(s) in 240 post(s)
You also need to add the fields to tools/setup/log fields.

Tnx & 73,

Dennis WN4AZY
WD8ELH
#3 Posted : Tuesday, May 28, 2013 3:14:36 PM(UTC)
Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Posts: 6
Location: Michigan

Dennis,

You did not indicate if I should actually copy the log form from L8 to L9. Should I, or do I just recreate the fields in L9.

Sorry to be a pain, but I had the same issues back in 2004 trying to make these changes.

Jared WD8ELH
WN4AZY
#4 Posted : Tuesday, May 28, 2013 9:42:37 PM(UTC)
admin

Rank: Administration

Groups: Administrators, Beta Testers
Posts: 2,244
Man
Location: Auburn, GA

Thanks: 429 times
Was thanked: 302 time(s) in 240 post(s)
No problem, you're not being a pain by any means hihi.

Yeah, copy the log form -- no need to set it up again. Due to font changes it may require minor tweaking of field position in LOGic 9.

Tnx & 73,

Dennis WN4AZY
WD8ELH
#5 Posted : Thursday, May 30, 2013 1:25:03 PM(UTC)
Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Posts: 6
Location: Michigan

Dennis,

I got most of the changes I had made (originally in L6) to work. I still have a couple of questions. I actually found copies of the emails we exchanged back and forth when I did this in L6.

Q1 Its farily easy to change the name of a user field when its in the table, but I don't remember how to add a name thats not in the table. (ie) user field8 to TFO.

Q2 I changed the name of the MAIN.LOGFORM in L9 to MAIN9.LOGFORM, copied the MAIN.LOGFORM from L8 to L9, which worked fine. One of your emails from 2004 mentioned copying logfields.dbf and logfields.cdx as well as the main.logform. Do I need to copy the .dbf and .cdx files as well?

Again, thanks for your help.

Jared WD8ELH
WN4AZY
#6 Posted : Friday, May 31, 2013 9:42:55 AM(UTC)
admin

Rank: Administration

Groups: Administrators, Beta Testers
Posts: 2,244
Man
Location: Auburn, GA

Thanks: 429 times
Was thanked: 302 time(s) in 240 post(s)
Hi--

Quote:
Q1 Its farily easy to change the name of a user field when its in the table, but I don't remember how to add a name thats not in the table. (ie) user field8 to TFO.

Add it to tools/setup/log fields first. Close and reopen the log form or LOGic. Then assign it to USER8 on the log form -- click the waiterman button.

Quote:
Q2 I changed the name of the MAIN.LOGFORM in L9 to MAIN9.LOGFORM, copied the MAIN.LOGFORM from L8 to L9, which worked fine. One of your emails from 2004 mentioned copying logfields.dbf and logfields.cdx as well as the main.logform. Do I need to copy the .dbf and .cdx files as well?

I wouldn't do that -- the formats are different between LOGic 9 and previous versions -- it may break something.

Let me know if any questions.

73,

Dennis WN4AZY
WD8ELH
#7 Posted : Friday, May 31, 2013 2:55:41 PM(UTC)
Rank: Newbie

Groups: Registered
Posts: 6
Location: Michigan

Dennis

Thanks for the help. My user fields are all correctly named and working.

Jared WD8ELH
Users browsing this topic
Guest
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

Powered by YAF 1.9.5.5 | YAF © 2003-2011, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 0.055 seconds.